Americaʼs Strongest Woman and 105 KG Americaʼs Strongest Man

Posted by Mike Johnston - November 14, 2011 - Events - No Comments
2011NASNats Competitors

ASC Produces a Weekend of Champions at the NAS Amateur Nationals,
Americaʼs Strongest Woman and 105 KG Americaʼs Strongest Man®
by: Mike Johnston, PT, CSCS

November 13, 2011 – A week removed from the largest strongman show ever produced
ASC looks forward to the 2012 season.

Strongman icon and powerlifting legend Bill “Kaz” Kazmaier summed it up when he
said, “This is the best strongman contest ever and there is nowhere else I would rather
be then here, in Tunica watching these young athletes compete.” One hundred and
sixty-two competitors took part in the largest strongman competition ever held a week
ago at Harrahʼs Casino in Tunica, MS. The 2011 NAS Amateur National Championship
featured three weight classes of Americaʼs Strongest Woman as three previous
champions returned to glory with wins in the LW, MW and HW class by KV Whisman,
Erin Waterman and Kristin Rhodes respectively. Rhodes was was heard to say that this
was her hardest fought victory and her proudest as she earned the title of Americaʼs
Strongest Woman for the 4th time.

In the LW menʼs classes Justin Cantwell dominated the 175 pound-class with 4 event
wins out of six. The 200-pound class saw the youngster Carlos Reyes earn gold with
outstanding performances including 8 reps on the 250# Bigg Dogg Logg. Mike Mastell
captured two events wins and a second place to secure the 231-pound class and the
Menʼs LW Open NAS National Championship, also earning his ASC 105 Kg Pro-Card.
The 105 Kg ASC Pro Class saw first time pro competitor Zack Nims ascend to the top of
the platform with solid performances both days. Nims won the Menʼs Open NAS
National Championship a year ago to earn his ASC Pro-card and now holds the title of
105Kg Americaʼs Strongest Man®.

In the Menʼs HW classes Chad Kurian won the 265 pound class and Derek Devaughan
captured the 300 -pound class. But, it was Adam “Big Country” Scherr who seized the
day winning the SHW class and capturing the Menʼs HW Open NAS National
Championship and his ASC Pro-Card. ADAm was quoted as saying, “I am going to
represent America well and the first order of business is winning the Arnold Amateur
Strongman World Championship!”

The following twenty-one athletes will represent the United States at the 3rd Annual
2012 Arnold Amateur Strongman World Championship:

Adam Scherr
Jacob Miskimens
Chad Kurian
Derek DevaughnDimitar Savtinov
Steve Schmidt
Chad Robison
John Posen
Tomas Rodriquez
Ian Darr
Dave Bourgeous
Alan Colley
Brad Ardrey
Scott Porter
Josh Cybart
Justin Blake
Ron Schock
Jacob Bodi
Dave Mihalov
Zack Nims
Mike Mastell

The five alternates will be:
Robert Oberst
Eric Dawson
Chris Weaver
AJ Freda
Rob Lewis

No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>